Jeff Coffin – SHOUT IT OUT! Spirit Music… (2018)

Artist : Jeff Coffin
Release Date : 09-03-2018
Catalog : EUR0421



ABOUT: SHOUT IT OUT! Spirit Music… (EUR0421)


Jeff COFFIN – saxes, flute
Bill ALTVATER – piano
Roger SPENCER – acoustic bass
Dale ARMSTRONG – drums, percussion

01) Footprints
02) Oleo
03) In A Sentimental Mood
04) There Will Never Be Another You
05) Blues: A Joe Jones/Tenor Madness/Sonnymoon For Two
06) Well, You Needn’t
07) Softly, As In A Morning Sunrise
08) Giant Steps

FROM JC: This is likely to be my one and only standards recording. There were no rehearsals, nothing was even talked about before we took the stage at the Workshop. Just the four us willing to listen and react.

My philosophy on standards is that it’s all been done before and at a much higher level than I could ever reach and, therefore, my focus as a musician has always leaned toward original compositions. This recording was done to be more archival than anything else but it was so much FUN that I decided to ask Lauren to mix the multi-tracks for me. She did a great job and I decided I would release it. 

So, here you are…It’s loose, frivolous, messy, humorous, quirky, irreverent, indulgent, silly, introspective, ebullient, and we had a ball making music together! It’s all about spirit.

Jeff Coffin is a Yamaha Performing Artist & Boston Sax Shop Ambassador.

This recording is dedicated to all the folks past, present, and future, who have helped further the cause of improvisational music in Nashville, TN. You know who you are.

cd notes:
Recorded March 25, 2016 @ The Nashville Jazz Workshop, Nashville, TN

Engineered, Mixed by Lauren Vessio

Mastered by Mike Haynes @ ENSŌ Mastering, Nashville, TN

Special Thanks to The Nashville Jazz Workshop

Package Design by Robert Hakalski

Photography by Jeff Coffin